Black Male Privilege

What About Our Daughters is discussing black male privilege.

What?

Yes, black male privilege.

The discussion was sparked after the posting of a Black Male Privileges Checklist. The list was created by Jewel Woods, author of Don’t Blame it on Rio: The Real Deal Behind Why Men Go to Brazil for Sex – I haven’t read it, can’t vouch for it.

WAOD is beginning their commentary with Leadership & Politics. Here’s that list (from Woods’ website):

The Black Male Privileges Checklist
Leadership & Politics

1. I don’t have to choose my race over my sex in political matters.
2. When I read African American History textbooks, I will learn mainly about black men.
3. When I learn about the Civil Rights Movement & the Black Power Movements, most of the leaders that I will learn about will be black men.
4. I can rely on the fact that in the near 100-year history of national civil rights organizations such as the NAACP and the Urban League, virtually all of the executive directors have been male.
5. I will be taken more seriously as a political leader than black women.
6. Despite the substantial role that black women played in the Civil Rights Movement and Black Power Movement, currently there is no black female that is considered a “race leader”.
7. I can live my life without ever having read black feminist authors, or knowing about black women’s history, or black women’s issues.
8. I can be a part of a black liberation organization like the Black Panther Party where an “out” rapist Eldridge Cleaver can assume leadership position.
9. I will make more money than black women at equal levels of education and occupation.
10. Most of the national “opinion framers” in Black America including talk show hosts and politicians are men.

An enthusiastic response from WAOD re: point #4:

I have to send out a triple hand clap of praise on number 4. I spoke about this on a panel at a conference. Look at organizations such as the NAACP where a HUGE chunk of the membership and volunteers are Black women, but when it came time to select a new President, not a single Black woman was among the finalists. BEFORE you go yammering about there not being any qualified Black women, let’s remember they selected a 35 year old with no experience running a civil rights organization. There wasn’t a single Black woman with equal qualifications to those of Benjamin Jealous? I’m just asking. Same for Rainbow PUSH and National Action Network and SCLC. And I don’t want to hear about all the women that are on the boards or are Vice Presidents of “Directors.” Its okay for Black women to be the running backs or the wide receivers, maybe even the quarterbacks, but when it comes time to lead a social justice organization, they won’t let Black women coach the team. If a corporation behaved the way some of these freedom fighting and equality champions behave, they would be picketing themselves.

Read more at WAOD.

blfmstprof

Leave a comment

Filed under African Americans, women

Leave a Reply

